LasernetUS Call For Proposals Jul 1, 2019

By pjones
July 1, 2019

Proposals for access to the LaserNetUS facilities will be accepted via a web-based proposal system until 4:00 p.m. PST on Friday, August 30, 2019.

This call is for experiments to be fielded between January and December 2020. Scheduling of the approved experiments will be subject to experiment feasibility and availability of each facility. For full details of the call, please visit https://www.lasernetus.org/proposal-submissions

In 2018, the DOE Office of Fusion Energy Sciences (FES) established LaserNetUS, a consortium of high power laser facilities from institutions across the U.S., to foster high-intensity laser research. Its seed funding creates open-access opportunities for researchers to lead experiments on the facilities. Today, we are pleased to announce LaserNetUS’s second External User experimental time (“Cycle 2”) in CY 2020.

A webcast Virtual Town Hall Meeting was held to better inform the users about the capabilities offered by each of the member labs before the upcoming LaserNetUS proposal deadline on August 30th. Please see https://www.lasernetus.org/event/lasernetus-virtual-town-hall for further details.

 

LaserNetUS facilities available to users in Cycle 2:

Advanced Beam Laboratory
Colorado State University
Contact: Jorge Rocca, euvlasers@colostate.edu

Berkeley Lab Laser Accelerator (BELLA) Center
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Contact: Thomas Schenkel, t_schenkel@lbl.gov

Center for High Energy Density Science: Texas Petawatt Laser
University of Texas, Austin
Contact: Todd Ditmire, tditmire@physics.utexas.edu

Center for Ultrafast Optical Science
University of Michigan
Contact: Karl Krushelnick, kmkr@umich.edu

Extreme Light Laboratory
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Contact: Donald Umstadter, donald.umstadter@unl.edu

Jupiter Laser Facility
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Contact: Robert Cauble, cauble1@llnl.gov

Laboratory for Laser Energetics: OMEGA EP
University of Rochester
Contact: Mingsheng Wei, mingsheng@lle.rochester.edu

Matter in Extreme Conditions
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Contact: Gilliss Dyer, Gilliss@slac.stanford.edu

Scarlet Laser Facility
Ohio State University
Contact: Douglass Schumacher, schumacher.60@osu.edu

 

For more detailed information on the performance and configurations of any of the LaserNetUS member facilities, please inquire with the designated contact. For more general information about LaserNetUS please visit: https://www.lasernetus.org/

We look forward to seeing your proposals!

Many thanks,

 

LaserNetUS Organizers